US trio RLLBRLL has been around since 1994 according to their Facebook page, consisting of Mae Starr, Gilles and Monte Trent Allen. “The White Biscuit” is an EP of theirs from 2013, released on US label Silber Records as a part of an experimental series of EPs made under the condition 5 songs in 5 minutes.

Rllbrll’s approach to this format appears to have been to try to get in as many short songs as possible, and then to create some random short additions to cover the amount of tracks needed. Opening piece Speechless is the most sophisticated and elongated of this handful of constructions, revolving around sophisticated drum patterns and light toned surging synth textures supplemented by a wandering piano motif and twisted, distorted voice effects. With a nice little twist that effectively concludes this composition in an elegant manner. Dinker is a creation that clocks in at the 90 second mark, some sort of avant-garde rhythms and noise excursion that is enticing in a strangely odd manner. Reno Nevada is a 50 seconds long rhythms, percussion and effects constellation, and a compelling one at that. Hobie Part 7 consists of 10 seconds or so of odd and strange but pleasant sound effects, while concluding piece The Wait is a brief electronic nose that covers the remaining second or thereabouts.

The end result are a fine set of compelling constructions, the longest of them the better one by far. Worth checking out by those fascinated with experimental artists that use rhythms and electronics as their main tools in exploring music with an avant-garde heart and soul but compelling and enticing in expression.

My rating: 72/100

Skip to toolbar