RAUSCH, an adventurous piano-driven rock outfit from Philadelphia, PA, will release their sophomore studio effort “Book II” on February 2nd, 2018. The album – mixed by Rich Mouser (Chris Cornell, Dream Theater, Weezer), with additional production by David Ivory (The Roots, Halestorm) – comprises 9 diverse tracks, ranging from emotionally charged anthems (“Greener Grass,” “Swansong”) to deeper works of epic proportions (“Drain,” “The End”). Heavy-hitting guest contributors include Mark Zonder (Fates Warning), Ryo Okumoto (Spock’s Beard) and guitarist Brendt Allman (Shadow Gallery).

The song Greener Grass is the lead off single from the album. You can watch the video for the track HERE

After devoting the better part of his early years to the piano, namesake frontman Doug Rausch earned his Ithaca College music degree & plunged straight into self-imposed exile. Disillusioned by how mainstream music had all but completely plateaued by the early 2000’s – culminating in an eye-opening stint at Sony Music Studios – he found himself in a decade-long campaign chasing a long-held musical vision of his own. Aside from select live engagements – including an invitation from Dream Theater’s Jordan Rudess to perform at the first KEYFEST – all else was sacrificed.

In late 2009, Rausch adventurous-but-song-driven self-titled debut album was released. Leadoff single “No Fair” hit the top 10 on New Music Weekly’s small-market radio charts, & the haunting “Ode to Pain” earned an honorable-mention nod from the 2010 International Songwriting Competition (ISC). Then, from as early as 2012, at the time having just broken ground on the debut’s follow-up (and still optimistic about eluding “[GN’R’s] Chinese Democracy Syndrome”), the band found themselves collectively hurled onto the battlefield against a seemingly unprecedented barrage of relentless set-backs; by the time they finally emerged victorious with completed album-in-hand, RAUSCH had time-traveled all the way to the doorstep of 2018.

“Book II” track listing:
1. Greener Grass
2. Swansong
3. Drain
4. Irked
5. Good Day
6. The End
7. Time Out
8. Speechless
9. Slow Suite: II. Isolation

Doug Rausch – vocals, piano
Joe Fine – bass
Gary Wehrkamp – guitars
Chris Ruffini – drums

For more information:

Skip to toolbar