Wednesday, May 9, 2018 saw the release of Ancient Veil’s new CD “Rings of Earthly … Live”. The title is a pun that refers to the album “Rings of Earthly Light” that band members Serri and Romano composed and produced in 1991 with another band of theirs: Eris Pluvia.

This CD, in 73 minutes of music, retraces the thirty years career of Ancient Veil, performed live with a new band, featuring songs that is a part of the history of the italian “new progressive”.

The album opens with six tracks from The Ancient Veil (Mellow Records 1995), continues with the tracks from aforementioned Rings of Earthly Light and concludes with three pieces taken from the album “I Am Changing (Lizard Records 2017) -this latter recording one that has obtained excellent sales and positive feedback from all the international press in this sector.

On a sidenote, the album “The Ancient Veil” have been reissued these days too, as “New – The Ancient Veil Remastered” (Lizard Records 2018).

The Ancient Veil consists of Alessandro Serri (guitars, voice and flute), Edmondo Romano (soprano sax, straight flutes, clarinet, low whistle, melodica), Fabio Serri (piano and keyboards), Massimo Palermo (bass) and Marco Fuliano ( drums and acoustic guitar).

The material for this live album was recorded during two concerts held in 2017 in the beautiful venue of “La Claque” in Genoa. The first concert was on May 12 during a long set which also featured Valeria Caucino in the song “Sell my feelings” (the lead vocalist on “Rings of Earthly Light “) and the Finisterre participate in the song ” In the Rising Mist ” in the guise of Fabio Zuffanti and Stefano Marelli on acoustic guitars. The second concert was on 11 November, an acoustic concert were the band was completed by the presence of oboist Marco Gnecco.

01 Ancient veil
02 Dance around my slow time
03 The dance of the elves
04 Creatures of the lake
05 Night thoughts
06 New
07 Rings of earthly light (suite)
– Earthcore
– Portrait
– Sell my feelings
– Following her in a fantasy lake
– I re emerged ancient knight
08 Pushing together
09 In the rising mist
10 I am changing
11 If I only knew
12 Bright autumn dawn

“Rings of Earthly … Live” is produced by Lizard Records and distributed by Black Widow Records.

For more information:

Skip to toolbar