The musical group Métronhomme was formed in Macerata (MC), ITALY, in the summer of 2003; the idea of the members was that of ​​developing an unusual project, based on original music compositions, open to a wide type of sounds and experimentations.

The first Metronhomme’s work was characterized by the form of the “concept”: not single pieces for the sake of themselves, but a single conceptual composition divided into several moments; the purpose was to represente the work in a theatrical context. With this method, the first three works of the group come to life: “L’ultimo canto di Orfeo” (The last song of Orpheus), “Neve” and “Bar Panopticon”.

The show entitled “The Last Song of Orpheus” was played in public for the first time in 2005: a free musical-multimedia interpretation of the Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice. The idea is based on the representation of a musical journey using a small dance troupe; some backgroud narrating voices accompained the unfolding of the musical paintings as a small vademecum for the viewer and the band used the synchronized video-projections as sound for the paintings.

The band, represented its first work in numerous theaters; the performances were welcomed by the critics and Metronhomme decided to create a CD of the musical part of the show (here the music from the Cd – In 2008 it was the turn of “Neve” (tr. “Snow”). It is a musical-theatrical representation, freely taken from Maxence Fermine’s homonym novel witch constitute a research work exploring the fusion of a theater and music.

In 2010, the group was involved in a new project: “Bar Panopticon”; the work was first played at the Lauro Rossi Theater in Macerata, with the contribution of AMAT (Marche Theatrical Activities Association) and the Municipality of the town. Proceeding along the path of interference between music, theater and video, the Métronhomme give life to a multimedia show with live performances and a dream-like music style. The band is the author of the music and also of the tale; videos of the projections were made with the collaboration of professional actors of the Piccolo Teatro of Milan.

In 2019 the album “4” takes shape, the fourth new work of Métronhomme: an LP 33 rpm 180gr. self-produced by the band, in which there are 11 instrumental tracks, for a total duration time of 43 minutes of great emotional music. “4” for the band is the result of a long period of separation from the “live” scenes, passed in the rehearsal room and dedicated exclusively to composition and musical exploration, with the subsequent studio recording final moment. The musical material was the result of the freest creative moment of the band, a freeness that previous works of the band had necessarily contained.

The music from LP “4” is freely available for listening on the Métronhomme youtube channel HERE

Track list:
1 I Treni di Gabo
2 L’uomo Ombra
3 Chiuso per Gatti
4 Blow Up Automatic Chiodi
5 R.I.P. Brian DIY (Get Rid of the Bishop)
6 Quattro Pesci Rossi
7 Ortega
8 Salt
9 Hapax
10 Uccideresti l’Uomo Grasso?
11 Acrobazie

Mirco Galli: bass
Tommaso Lambertucci: piano, synth
Andrea Lazzaro Ghezzi: drums
Marco Poloni: guitars
Paolo Scapellato: keyboards
Manuele Marani: bass

“4” is distributed by Italian label Lizard Records and G.T. Music Distribution.


Skip to toolbar