Nine years after his “No Decoder”, RPWL frontman Yogi Lang announces a new solo album -expectations are high after such a long time. The new album titled “A Way Out Of Here” not only offers a colourful palette of art rock with its nine songs, but also illuminates the essentials of life with all obstacles, fears and rays of hope. A song-serving brilliant band, analog synthesizers and epic choirs provide the basis for Yogi Lang’s gilmouresque voice.

“For a long time my life was dominated by the certainty that there was a solution for all problems. We just have to fight for it,” explains Yogi Lang. “Even though, as with the title track, you basically don’t know how you got into a situation. Somewhere there must be a way out, as suggested in the title of the album: “Where there is a way in, there must be a way out”.

The first symphonic wall of sound is only a few seconds away: “Move On” – obviously audibly linked to the debut work – gently pulls the listener out of everyday life. There are many personal experiences in “A Way Out Of Here”, which the album wants to convey in peace, without hustle and bustle, without false pathos. Love often seems to offer a possible solution for problems. “Love is All Around” and “Freedom Of The Day” believe in the ability of love and empathy to banish just about any problem to insignificance. But what if this “Way Out Of Here” does not exist? In “Shine On Me” the protagonist cannot accept the loss of his partner, just ignores it and in the last of the nine tracks “I’ll Be There For You” we also find the last promise to stay with a loved one to the very end, if necessary, at any cost. This already ends a multi-layered and very emotional journey through Yogi Lang’s world of thoughts.

The music and lyrics were all written by Yogi Lang, only “Freedom Of The Day” was written in cooperation with none lesser than bassist Guy Pratt (Pink Floyd, David Gilmour). Of course Yogi Lang himself plays all keyboards on this great solo album, which will also be available on vinyl (180 g) for the connoisseurs. The CD will initially be released as a limited edition with the bonus DVD “Live At De Boerderij” from 2011.

Music connoisseurs who appreciate modern, outstandingly played and produced art rock with wonderful little stories will love this album. Music in which the spoken word alone is no longer enough to express what wants to be said. “A Way Out Of Here” will be released on November 8th 2019 through German label Gentle Art of Music.

01. Move On
02. A Way Out Of Here
03. Shine On Me
04. Don’t Confuse Life With A Thought
05. Love Is All Around
06. Freedom Of The Day
07. Early Morning Light
08. The Sound Of The Ocean
09. I’ll Be There For You

Yogi Lang: vocals, keyboards
Torsten Weber: guitars
Stephan Treutter: drums
Yvo Fischer: bass
Conny Kreitmeier, Bine Heller: backing vocals
Kalle Wallner: solo guitar on Don’t Confuse Life With A Thought & I’ll Be There For You
Klaus Reichart: pedal steel, mandolin

Tour dates (special guest of RPWL):
20 Nov 2019 D-Rüsselsheim, Das Rind
21 Nov 2019 D-Bonn, Harmonie
22 Nov 2019 NL-Alphen aan den Reijn, Parkvilla
23 Nov 2019 NL-Helmond, Cacaofabriek
24 Nov 2019 D-Oberhausen, Zentrum Altenberg


Skip to toolbar