The things you cannot leave behind, the things that remain. Oftentimes it is only thoughts – indeed ghosts – that remind you of what once was. Through detailed compositions, enthusiastic melodies and, last but not least, dimensions of sound that are as complex as they are experimental, Frequency Drift create enthralling Cinematic Music on their new album Letters to Maro. In the minds of listeners the music creates fascinating sequences of images about loss, forgetting and healing all by means of the mere energy of the sounds.

In order to continue the practice of creating a very unique sound for every album the band has deepened its intense use of tight arrangements and unconventional instruments: Once again the electronic harp is at the center of the compositions, in particular. That way the group leaves the heavy guitar sound of Last behind and displays a much more transparent and electronic approach on Letters to Maro. That is how the songs receive the room to breathe they need, so they can unfold their inherent melancholy and lightness with highly-precise clarity. Frequency Drift has never been rhythmically more versatile, never have the songs contained more energy or heart.

The implementation of the lyrical aspect of the concept was conducted by new addition and singer Irini Alexia. She not only uses her emotional eloquence in her voice but also in her writing style. The songs were conceived as loosely connected stand-alone letters in which Irini tells the story of a person that has to come to the realization that even returning to the metropolis of his youth, hedonism and the pursuit of normality cannot obliterate all the ghosts of loss. It would have been easy to get fully immersed in melancholia, but despite the enormous emotionality of the songs: in many places subtle winks provide them with moments of lightness and comfort.

“Letters to Maro” is set for an April 13th release through German label Gentle Art of Music.

01) Dear Maro
02) Underground
03) Electricity
04) Neon
05) Deprivation
06) Izanami
07.) Nine
08.) Escalator
09.) Sleep Paralysis
10.) Who’s Master
11.) Ghosts When It Rains

Irini Alexa: vocals
Andreas Hack: keys, synthsizers, guitar, bass, mandolin
Nerissa Schwarz: electric harp, mellotron, synthesizers
Wolfgang Ostermann: drums, wavedrum
Michael Bauer, guitar
Marco Geipel, live bass

For more information:

Skip to toolbar