The Mute Gods started as a (semi) solo project by Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson, Steve Hackett, Lifesigns). He provides the lead vocals and plays several instruments like bass guitar, Chapman Stick, guitar and additional keyboards. Nick is accompanied by Roger King (Steve Hackett) on keyboards, additional guitars, backing vocals and Marco Minnemann (Steven Wilson, The Aristocrats) on drums, percussion and additional guitars. Guest drummers on the album are Nick D’Virgilio (Big Big Train, Spock’s Beard) and Gary O’Toole (Steve Hackett).

I didn’t know what to expect at all, I really had no clue how the music would sound like. Three amazing musicians with Nick Beggs as the main guy, this must be something! The bass is, of course, very present in the music. Some tracks on the album contain a lot of energy, others are more quiet, slow and serene. Sometimes I do miss some cohesion in the tracks. The album is almost an hour long if you include the two bonus tracks that are on the limited edition album.

The album starts with very bombastic title track Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me, which immediately grabs your attention. Praying To A Mute God has a catchy chorus, Nick’s voice is very pleasant to listen to. Night School For Idiots is a positive, poppy track. Feed The Troll and Your Dark Ideas are just like the first track very powerful and bombastic songs. Last Man On Earth has a vivacious intro. The track carries a positive vibe. In The Crosshairs is the shortest track on the album and an instrumental track. The 70s like guitar riff in the intro is very cool, the song contains a solid rhythm. Strange Relationship reminds me of Steven Wilson’s solo music, this track could fit on the album The Raven That Refused To Sing. Swimming Horses has a mighty bass riff, probably because the haunting mellotron choirs on the background increase the intensity of the bass. Mavro Capelo carries the ambience of Porcupine Tree’s music in my opinion. It both has surprising firm elements and calm moments. Last track Father Daughter is a lovely song with Nick’s daughter Lula Beggs on vocals as well. The track is sweet and very poppy.

This is a very good album, but something is missing in my opinion. Nick Beggs is a brilliant musician and the musicians who collaborate on this album did a wonderful job as well… Still, I have the feeling that it lacks a bit of supervision when it comes to song arrangement and cohesion. I recommend: Buy it, listen to it and create your own opinion! I give it four stars (and a plus!) out of 5.

****+ Iris Hidding

  1. Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me (7:45)
    2. Praying To A Mute God (5:06)
    3. Nightschool For Idiots (6:00)
    4. Feed The Troll (4:55)
    5. Your Dark Ideas (4:41)
    6. Last Man On Earth (5:30) (bonus track)
    7. In The Crosshairs (3:18)
    8. Strange Relationship (6:10)
    9. Swimming Horses (7:05)
    10. Mavro Capelo (5:10) (bonus track)
    11. Father Daughter (4:09)

You can read my review on my personal page Grendel Headquarters, click here!

You can listen to one of the tracks here: